DIY Herringbone Paint Canvas.

Source from: http://www.ishouldbemoppingthefloor.com/2015/02/diy-herringbone-canvas-art.html

This herringbone canvas art photo was the main goal of my DIY project.

The supplies needed:

  • A large canvas (I bought a 2-pack for $12 from Michaels).
  • Multiple paint colours ($3.99 each from Michaels).
  • Painters tape (already had some from previous paint job in the living room, ~$5)
  • Paint brush ($1.00 from Michaels)

The first step is to measure the lines and to prepare the canvas for the painters tape. My mistake here was changing the design half-way through. I had originally thought I was going to have my painting like this:

IMG_2432

But then proceeded to change my mind, and not correctly fix the measurement to this:

IMG_2436

My one regret is using the “knock-off” painters tape of Frog tape. I don’t know if it had to do with the material on the canvas or the tape in general but I struggled with getting the tape to stick 100%.

The next step was to paint! The one mistake I made was too much silver..

IMG_2437

I should have put one more of each other colour, but oh well. I still think the overall project turned out pretty well. The last step is to allow the paint to fully dry before peeling of the painters tape. Then voila!

IMG_2452

As you can see some of the darker colours are more noticeable to see that the paint seeped underneath the tape. But, I think it adds a little bit of character. I plan to one day, eventually sand down the paint and make the paint seem a little older.

I have more DIY projects that I am working on, be sure to stay tuned. I will try not to leave for two months without posting something!

See you soon,

CByrn5e

 

Leave a comment